GROWING TOGETHER: MODEL
Description
Growing Together is is a unique program that utilizes proven methods of early intervention and prevention designed to ensure the healthy development of young children in high-risk neighborhoods. The program supports families through home visiting. Information and help through parent training, and guidance and resources for families who need assistance.

Invest in Kids Foundation supports the program in three provinces. In St. Jamestown, Toronto, we partner with the Hincks-Dellcrest Centre and the Toronto Public Health department, in the Montreal district of Plamondon, Côte-des-Neiges we work with Sainte-Justine Hospital and Centre Local de Services Communautaires (CLSC), and a third program has just been launched in Dartmouth and Cape Breton, in partnership with the I.W.K. Grace Hospital and the Nova Scotia Government.

STRATEGIES: Growing Together is a population-based initiative, designed to: 1) promote healthy development and prevent future health problems in both parents and children; and 2) intervene early in situations where the development of an infant or child is at risk.

The promotion and prevention part of the model includes a locally appropriate combination of programs tailored to the community, such as parenting classes, employment training classes, an infant development tracking system and clinic, advocacy supports, nutrition programs (such as cooking, gardening and breakfast programs), drop-in centres and playgroups, child care, etc.

The early intervention programs generally focus on families who are at risk due to the following situations: 1) isolation and/or disenfranchisement; 2) difficulties due to a parent or child developmental delay, serious medical condition or a psychiatric problem; and 3) past experience by any member of the family with severe abuse, trauma and/or loss. Appropriate interventions are selected for each family, and includes options such as individual or group therapy, play therapy, speech and language therapy and crisis intervention.

APPROACH: Growing Together delivers a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary combination of best practices in child, family and community supports to high risk families with young children. It requires the close collaboration of professionals from public health, child care, children's mental health, family support and education, and the strong involvement of parents and community members. The result is a seamless set of services, tailored to the locale, where parents and professionals unite to provide high quality, non-stigmatizing supports and services that are engaging, valuable and effective. The early identification and intervention programs, although provided by highly trained staff and volunteers, are experienced by children and their families as natural, non-threatening extensions of existing relationships established in formal programs and informal supports.



slogan.gif (8656 bytes)

GRAND ENSEMBLE : MODÈLE
Description
 

Grandir Ensemble est un programme unique de prévention et d'interventions précoces conçu pour assurer le sain développement des jeunes enfants habitants les communautés les plus vulnerables. Le programme encourage les familles par biais de visites à domiciles, de distribution d'information, d'aide, de direction et de ressources aux familles nécéssiteuses.

Investir dans l'enfance finance l'application de ce modèle dans trois provinces. A St. Jamestown, Toronto, nous somme associés au Centre Hincks-Dellcrest et au Service de santé publique de Toronto. A Montréal, dans le district de Plamondon, nous travaillons en collaboration avec le Centre local de services communautaires Côtes-Des-Neiges et l'hôpital Sainte-Justine. Un troisième troisième programme vient d'être lancé à Dartmouth et au Cap Breton en Nouvelle-Écosse, en partenariat avec le gouvernement provincial et l'hôpital I.W.K. Grace.

STRATÉGIES Grandir ensemble est une initiative à caractère populaire conçu pour 1) promouvoir le sain développement des parents et des enfants et leur éviter des problèmes futurs, et 2) intervenir rapidement lorsque le développement normal d'un nourrisson ou d'un enfant est en péril.

La promotion et la prévention reposent sur une combinaison adaptée de programmes communautaires : cours d'éducation parentale, formation professionnelle, système et clinique de suivi du développement des nourrissons, services de représentation, programmes de nutrition (cuisine, garderie et petits-déjeuners), halte-garderies, terrains de jeu, soins des enfants, etc.

Les programmes d'intervention précoce s'adressent en général aux familles vulnérables pour les raisons suivantes : 1) isolement et privation des droits, 2) difficultés imputables à un retard du développement d'un parent ou d'un enfant, d'un état pathologique grave et de problèmes psychiatriques ou 3) membre de la famille ayant subi des mauvais traitements, un traumatisme ou une perte. Le type d'intervention est fonction de chaque famille et fait appel à des solutions comme la thérapie individuelle ou en groupe, la thérapie par le jeu, l'orthophonie et l'intervention en cas de crise.

APPROCHE Grandir ensemble offre un ensemble pluridisciplinaire des meilleures pratiques d'aide à l'enfance, à la famille et à la collectivité afin d'aider les familles les plus vulnérables avec de jeunes enfants. Le modèle repose sur l'étroite collaboration des professionnels de la santé publique, de soins aux enfants, de la santé mentale des enfants et en matière de soutien familial et d'éducation, ainsi que la pleine participation des parents et des membres de la communauté. Il en résulte un ensemble de services transparents, adapté à l'endroit où les parents et les professionnels s'unissent pour offrir des services et un soutien de qualité non traumatisants, agréables, utiles et efficaces. Les programmes de dépistage et d'intervention précoces, bien qu'ils soient offerts par des employés et des bénévoles très bien formés, sont perçus par les enfants et leurs familles comme le prolongement naturel non menaçant des rapports établis dans le cadre des programmes officiels et de soutien officieux.